The Fresh Market- Not Your Average Grocery Store

fresh market abby

 “I’m not good at this kind of stuff, but I enjoy food.”

The Fresh Market opened up quite recently, taking the spot where Scolari’s used to be on Milpas Street– let’s just say that I am very happy it did.

fresh market candy The Fresh Market appears as your average grocery store, but inside they have many options including a gelato bar, smoothie station, pizza and sandwich station, sushi bar, candy station, bakery area, and much, much more. It’s like a less expensive version of whole foods or the public market, which is what, in my opinion, everyone wants. However, I don’t go to The Fresh Market for groceries, which appear to be more pricy than at your more familiar Trader Joes or Vons market. Anyways, I go there for their specialty stations I mentioned earlier such as their candy aisleS (emphasis on the plural S), seen to your left, which include items from chocolate covered gummy bears to million of jelly bean flavors→ BEWARE…your candy will be gone before you know it!

When I want to be healthy -which is rare- I go to their smoothie station. There, they organize andgreen smoothie name their smoothies by color, such as the “Black,” “White,” “Red,” etc. They are named that way based off of the color created by the ingredients. For example, I normally get the “Green,” seen to your right » This smoothie includes Kale, Green Apple, Spinach, Cucumber, etc. I can already tell that most of your are scrunching your nose in disgust, but it tastes way better than it sounds → TRUST ME. I mean actually you might not want to because I am the very opposite of a picky eater- I’ll eat anything you give me, but I know the difference between good and bad tasting food.

The Fresh Market is not only awesome because of the delicious food they have, but also because the price is just right. They always have deals going on from weekly specials on filet mignon, to discounts on candy- which I find very tempting. Any who, I am almost always purchasing at least one thing on sale when I head to The Fresh Market.

In addition to their friendly pricing, they have super friendly service! So, my favorite part about The Fresh Market is that they have a Kids Cookie Club › you can walk up to a bakery counter and receive a free cookie…I know what all of you are thinking, I’m not a kid, or under 12 years old- but they will give you a free cookie anyways! Perfect for me.

So, if you are in the neighborhood, OR NOT… go to The Fresh Market on Milpas if you are in the mood for really anything from a warm slice of pizza, to a freshly made eclair as this market is not your average grocery store.

abby the fresh market

Overall: $ + 😛

Leave a comment